Fashanne 2023

“DESIGNERS OF THE FUTURE – What happens when design, ingenuity, and creativity collide? And, with it, passion for slow, sustainable and considered fashion? Fashanne is a force to be reckoned with – a place to showcase the brilliant design talents, quietly bubbling away in our universities, designers ready to shout from the rooftops about the topics that will directly impact on future generations. This year it was ‘Earth’ and, boy, did they shout… What an incredible, thought-provoking and uplifting event (and a joy to shoot!).” Rachael Connerton Photography

Fashanne 2023: Catwalk Highlights


The Athleisure Design Award

WINNER: Francisca Santos (De Montfort University)

The Commercial Design Award sponsored by ITL – Intelligent Label Solutions

WINNER: Sofia Fabbricatore (De Montfort University)

The Designer Menswear Award sponsored by Paul Smith

WINNER: Harry Wheeler (Nottingham Trent University)

The Footwear & Accessory Design Award sponsored by Pentland Brands

WINNER: Jihwi Ahn (De Montfort University)

The High Street Menswear Award sponsored by Next

WINNER: Scarlett Simpson (Nottingham Trent University)

The ASBCI Innovation Award sponsored by Style 3D

WINNER: Luoyuan Zhang (Nottingham Trent University)

The Knitwear Design Award

WINNER: Gus Beech (Nottingham Trent University)

The Sustainability Award sponsored by GreenEarth Cleaning & The Daniel Hanson Award sponsored by Nottingham BID

WINNER: Harriet Fletcher-Gilhuys (Nottingham Trent University)

The Textile Design Award

WINNER: Shuyu Zhou (University of Derby)

The Womenswear Design Award sponsored by Next

WINNER: Hoang Son Le (Nottingham Trent University)

The People’s Choice Award sponsored by Victoria Centre

WINNER: Bruna Neves (University of Derby)

Runners Up

Athleisure Design – Wiktoria Snioch (Nottingham Trent University)
Commercial Design – Ioan Jeffries (University of Derby)
Designer Menswear – Mailie Dennis (Nottingham Trent University)
Footwear & Accessories – Aleksander Milev (Nottingham Trent University)
High Street Menswear – Brooke Sheerin (Nottingham Trent University)
ASBCI Innovation – Abbie Shelton (Nottingham Trent University)
Knitwear Design – Bruna Neves (University of Derby)
Sustainability – Feifan Li (University of Derby) & Eden Dowdle (Nottingham Trent University)
Textile Design – Katie Haynes (Nottingham Trent University)
Womenswear Design – Louise Blunt (De Montfort University)
Daniel Hanson Award – Gus Beech (Nottingham Trent University)

Q&A with Scarlett Simpson – Winner of the 2023 High Street Menswear Award, sponsored by Next.

Q: How did you first hear about Fashanne – Fashion Designers of the Future Awards?

A: I first heard of the Fashanne Awards when Anne Davies, founder of the Fashanne Awards, came to visit Nottingham Trent University to present the idea of the Awards. I had also seen some images and social media content on previous 3rd years design accounts but wasn’t so aware of the amazing prizes and industry exposure the awards had to offer.

Q: Why did you decide to get involved with the Fashanne Awards?

A: Anne was amazing in presenting (funnily enough!) the awards to us students in a very compelling format, mentioning it was an awards ceremony that was only accessible for a select range of universities across the Midlands and thus a likely opportunity to be awarded prizes and internship opportunities. Nottingham Trent University also mentioned these awards early on in our 3rd year, which allowed us time to figure out which of our final projects could fit into the relevant Fashanne Awards categories.

There’s more….click here to read full article.

On the catwalk…

More Photos…