The Awards

Fashanne champions talent, diversity, inclusion and sustainability.

The Fashanne Awards began in 2016 to provide a showcase for the design talent that abounds in our universities and to give the next generation a helping hand into the world of work.

Based in the East Midlands – not only the heart of the country but historically the heart of clothing, textile and shoe manufacture, these awards pitch the best 3rd year fashion design students against each other – all under one roof.

Fashanne attracts high level and sustained support from industry, universities and opinion makers with substantial media attention, TV, radio, print and social.

The aim of these awards is to be:

  • a byword for emerging talent
  • a conduit for employability
  • and THE place to see the very best designers of the future.

Who takes part?

Participating universities choose their most talented students for the Fashanne Awards. Each university may enter 2 students per award category. The criteria for each award category will be submitted to the course leaders. All students taking part are automatically entered for the 2 special awards as well, namely - The People's Choice (public vote) Award and The Daniel Hanson Award for Excellence.

Award Categories 2024

There will be 10 Fashanne Award categories for 2024, which are; Womenswear Design, Designer Menswear, High Street Menswear, Textile Design, Knitwear Design, Footwear & Accessory Design, Commercial Design, Sustainability, Athleisure Design and The ASBCI Innovation Award. Also, The People’s Choice Award and The Daniel Hanson Award for Excellence.

Judging process

We are very much planning a live event for 2024. A few weeks prior to the awards, the finalists will be asked to submit some 2D work (to include portfolio and some video footage) to Fashanne - specific details of requirements are available from the course leaders. Each entry will be listed on this website and voting will be enabled for the People's Choice Award. Every student taking part will be required to have 2 complete outfits/textile pieces - 1 for the fashion show and 1 for the exhibition. It is to be noted that judging will be from the 2D work submitted prior to the event. Textiles/Footwear & Accessories will also feature in the catwalk show - we will adapt where necessary!

What do the Winners win?

Each winner will receive a Fashanne Award; a certificate; prize money of £200; and, for the sponsored category awards, a paid internship with the sponsor of that particular award. For the ASBCI Innovation Award, each entry will receive free membership to the ASBCI. Every student will also receive high-res images of their designs taken by our professional photographer.

Guest Models

In 2022 we were joined by Gold Paralympian Richard Whitehead MBE, Inspirational Speaker and De Monfort University Graduate Sian Green-Lord and the fabulous Cheddar Gorgeous. In 2023, we were joined by Tayla, Lindsay and Amy all from the Richard Whitehead Foundation. They were all fantastic!

Check out YouTube for all the films made of the Fashanne Awards so far!